Tripartite Invitation: Eligible Nations Revealed

Ninety-two nations will be eligible for a tripartite invitation for the 2020 Olympics. Tripartite invitations are reserved for nations who send small delegations to the Olympics, increasing the universality of the games by selecting athletes whom did not qualify normally.

In total, 104 quotas are directly reserved for eligible nations across 16 sports: Archery (4), Badminton (6), Boxing (8), Canoeing (2), Gymnastics (4), Judo (20), Karate (4), Modern Pentathlon (4), Rowing (4), Sailing (4), Shooting (24), Sport Climbing (2), Table Tennis (2), Taekwondo (4), Triathlon (4) and Weightlifting (8). Additional spots may be available via reallocation of unused quotas including three more sports (Cycling, Fencing and Wrestling). Wild cards in athletics and swimming will be handled by their respective federations and are not limited to the ninety-two nations.

To be eligible to receive a tripartite invitation, nations must have averaged eight or fewer athletes over the past two Olympics, excluding quotas obtained through team sports. Additionally, all athletes must display a minimum level of competence in the sport they are selected to compete in. Applications to obtain one of the tripartite quotas will begin in October.

Relative to 2016, Angola, Barbados, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Congo (Republic), Cook Islands, Cote d’Ivoire, Fiji, Ghana, Jordan, Lebanon, Panama, Paraguay, and United Arab Emirates have been removed from the list while Albania, Grenada, Kuwait were added. See below for the list of eligible nations.

Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Democratic Republic), Comoros, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eswatini, Gabon, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo and Zambia

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Cambodia, Iraq, Kuwait, Laos, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Sri Lanka, Syria, Timor Leste and Yemen

Albania, Andorra, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, North Macedonia and San Marino

American Samoa, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu

Pan America
Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Virgin Islands

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.