Taekwondo: Grand Slam Champion Series Rankings Published After Conclusion of 2019 Event

With the completion of the 2019 World Taekwondo Grand Slam the final update of the World Taekwondo Grand Slam Champions Series Rankings has been released. Athletes in each Olympic weight class were able to obtain points by competing at qualification tournaments or the Grand Slam itself between 2017 and 2019 with later dates holding heavier weight. The highest ranked athlete from each event qualifies their nation, provided that they aren’t poised to qualify through the Olympic World Rankings set to be published on January 1st.

The top ranked athletes from each event were as follows; South Korea’s Jang Jun (Men’s -58kg), China’s Zhao Shuai (Men’s 68kg), Russia’s Maksim Khramtcov (Men’s -80kg), South Korea’s In Kyo-don (Men’s +80kg), Thailand’s Panipak Wongpattanakit (Women’s -49kg), China’s Zhou Lijun (Women’s -57kg), Croatia’s Matea Jelic (Women’s -67kg) and Great Britain’s Bianca Walkden (Women’s +67kg).

Of these athletes, Jang, Walkden, Wongpattanakit and Zhao are all defending champions though not necessarily in Olympic weight classes. Additionally, Zhao is the only one to have won gold in 2016, though he competed in the lighter -58kg event.

As the Olympic World Rankings take priority over the Grand Slam Champion Series Rankings most of these athletes will qualify via that method. While the official update will be released on January 1st through calculations by MHSN on Totallympics, everyone except Zhou Lijun will be ranked in the top five meaning they will qualify via that method. Their quotas will be reallocated to the sixth ranked athlete on the Olympic World Rankings.

Qualified Nations

Women’s -57kg
* China

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.