Swimming: Australia’s Final Leg Wins Gold in Mixed 4x100m Medley Relay at World Aquatics Championships

Australia outreached the United States at the wall to win gold in the mixed 4x100m medley relay at the 2019 World Aquatics Championships. The 12 fastest nations during the heats qualified a team to compete at the Olympics. Swimming at the World Aquatics Championship is currently being held in Gwangju, South Korea from July 21st to July 28th 2019.

The heats were won by the United States who finished with 3:41.23, almost a second ahead of Australia’s 3:42.22. Also qualifying to the Olympics were Russia, Great Britain, Canada, Italy, the Netherlands, Germany, Belarus, Israel, Poland and Hungary. Both China and Japan were disqualified during the heats meaning they will have to qualify via a different method.

The final was initially led by Russia whom opt to use their two male swimmers first. The United States’ Caeleb Dressel gave his nation the lead during the butterfly leg, but a phenomenal freestyle swim by Australia’s Cate Campbell allowed the nation to overtake the United States to win gold by 0.02 seconds with a time of 3:39.08. The bronze medal was won by Great Britain whom finished with a time of 3:40.68.

The only other opportunity for nations to qualify in these events is by being one of the four fastest nations not yet qualified in an approved event ending on May 31st 2020. Swimming at the World Aquatics Championships continues tomorrow with the next direct qualifiers being the women’s 4x200m freestyle relay.

Qualified Nations

Mixed 4x100m Medley Relay
* Australia
* Belarus
* Canada
* Germany
* Great Britain
* Hungary
* Israel
* Italy
* Netherlands
* Poland
* Russia
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.