Swimming: Australia Wins Men’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay at World Aquatics Championships

Australia continued its success in the relay events, winning gold in the men’s 4x200m freestyle relay. The 12 fastest nations during the heats qualified a team to compete at the Olympics. Swimming at the World Aquatics Championship is currently being held in Gwangju, South Korea from July 21st to July 28th 2019.

The heats were won by Italy whom finished with a time of 7:04.97, just edging out Russia whom finished with a time of 7:05.28. Also qualifying to the Olympics were the United States, Australia, China, Brazil, Great Britain, Germany, Japan, Israel, Poland and Switzerland.

The final saw Great Britain lead for the first portion of the relay, thanks to a strong first leg by Duncan Scott. Australia would take over the lead during the third leg to win the event with a time of 7:00.85. Russia won silver while the United States won bronze with times of 7:01.81 and 7:01.98 respectively.

The only other opportunity for nations to qualify in these events is by being one of the four fastest nations not yet qualified in an approved event ending on May 31st 2020. Swimming at the World Aquatics Championships continues on Sunday with the next direct qualifiers being the men’s and women’s 4x100m medley relay.

Qualified Nations

Men’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay
* Australia
* Brazil
* China
* Germany
* Great Britain
* Israel
* Italy
* Japan
* Poland
* Russia
* Switzerland
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.