Swimming: Australia Sets New World Record in Women’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay at World Aquatics Championships

A new world record was set in the women’s 4x200m freestyle relay at the 2019 World Aquatics Championships. The 12 fastest nations during the heats qualified a team to compete at the Olympics. Swimming at the World Aquatics Championship is currently being held in Gwangju, South Korea from July 21st to July 28th 2019.

The heats were won by Australia whom finished with a time of 7:50.64. The defending champion United States was second with a time of 7:51.58 while Russia’s 7:52.66 placed it in third. Also qualifying to the Olympics were China, Germany, Canada, Hungary, Japan, Poland, New Zealand, Hong Kong and South Korea.

The final saw lead changes between Australia and the United States. Australia’s Arianne Titmus led the nation on the first leg, but a strong second leg by Katie Ledecky gave the United States the lead. In the final leg, Emma McKeon took the lead for Australia on route to a world record time of 7:41.50. The United States took silver with a time of 7:41.87 while a 1:54.36 by Penny Oleksiak, the fastest time in the relay allowed Canada to take bronze over China with a time of 7:44.35.

The only other opportunity for nations to qualify in these events is by being one of the four fastest nations not yet qualified in an approved event ending on May 31st 2020. Swimming at the World Aquatics Championships continues tomorrow with the next direct qualifiers being the men’s 4x200m freestyle relay.

Qualified Nations

Women’s 4x200m Freestyle Relay
* Australia
* Canada
* China
* Germany
* Hong Kong
* Hungary
* Japan
* New Zealand
* Poland
* Russia
* South Korea
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.