Baseball/Softball Qualification

Qualification Summary

Each National Olympic Committee can enter a maximum of one team in each event (24 men and 15 women). As hosts, Japan is qualified to compete in both events. The remaining quotas will be decided at various qualification events.

For men’s baseball the highest ranked team from the Americas and Asia/Oceania at the 2019 Premier12 will qualify their nation. The winners of the 2019 European/African and 2021 Americas qualifying event will also qualify. A final qualification tournament in 2021 will determine the sixth and final team to compete.

In women’s softball the winner of the 2018 Women’s Softball World Championship will qualify to the games. In addition, three continental qualification tournaments will be held in 2019 with the top ranked eligible nation in Asia/Oceania and Europe/Africa and the top two in the Americas qualifying to the Olympics.

Qualified Nations

Qualification events are listed in hierarchical order.

Men’s Baseball

Qualification Event Places Qualified Nations
Host Nation 1 Japan
2019 Europe/Africa Qualifying Event 1 Israel
2019 Premier12 (Americas and Asia/Oceania) 2 Mexico
South Korea
2021 Americas Qualifying Event 1 United States
2021 Final Qualifying Event 1 Dominican Republic

Women’s Softball

Qualification Event Places Qualified Nations
Host Nation 1 Japan
2018 Women’s World Championship 1 United States
2019 Europe/Africa Qualifying Event 1 Italy
2019 Americas Qualifying Event 2 Canada
2019 Asia/Oceania Qualifying Event 1 Australia