Sailing: Great Britain Announces 12/15 Sailors to Compete in Tokyo

Great Britain announced the first twelve athletes to compete in sailing at the 2020 Olympics. The team is made up of former Olympic and World champions along with sailors making their Olympic debut.

Giles Scott and Hannah Mills will get to defend their Olympic titles in the men’s finn and women’s 470 respectively. Mills will be competing with her new partner Eilidh McIntyre whom will be making her Olympic debut. The pair have recently won the 2019 World Championship title in women’s 470.

Other former recent world champions include Dylan Fletcher-Scott and Stuart Bithell, the 2017 world champions in the men’s 49er. This will be Fletcher-Scott’s second appearance at the Olympics after finishing sixth in 2016.

Also returning to the Olympics are Luke Patience and Chris Grube (5th in 2016) in the men’s 470 and 2019 World Championships bronze medalists Alison Young (8th in 2016) in the women’s laser radial. Charlotte Dobson also makes her return after finishing eighth in 2016 in the women’s 49erFX, but she is now partnered with Saskia Tidey whom switched allegiance from Ireland after finishing 12th in 2016.

Making their Olympic debut are Emma Wilson and Tom Squires whom will compete in the women’s and men’s RS:X respectively.

Three more sailors, in the men’s laser and mixed nacra 17 foiling will be decided on a later date.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.