Rugby Sevens: South Africa Wins Africa Women’s Sevens, Kenya Qualifies to Olympics

In a very close final, South Africa won the 2019 Africa Women’s Sevens title after missing out in last year’s tournament. In terms of Olympic qualification, the highest ranked eligible nation qualified a team to compete. In total, 12 teams competed in three groups where they top eight best performing teams advanced to the quarter-finals. The Africa Women’s Sevens was held in Jemmal, Tunisia from October 12th to October 13th 2019.

Pool A was won by defending champions Kenya where they outscored their opponents 123-0, showcasing their regional strength. The runner-up Senegal also advanced thanks to victories over Botswana (19-10) and Ghana (17-10). Despite finishing third, Ghana was the worst performing third place team and thus did not advance.

South Africa also showed off their regional strength in Pool B by scoring at least 30 points against their opponents to finish the group with a 99-0 point differential. Despite a 32-0 loss to South Africa in their first match, Uganda was able to regroup to defeat Zambia 15-10 and Zimbabwe 10-5 to advance as the second place team. Also advancing was Zimbabwe thanks to their 12-7 victory over Zambia during their first game.

Pool C can down to Madagascar and Tunisia as the two nations scored blowout victories over Mauritius and Morocco. In the final match of the group, Madagascar was able to secure a 14-7 victory to win the pool. Also advancing to the quarter-finals was Morocco who defeated Mauritius 41-0 in their final game.

The quarter-finals saw no upsets as South Africa, Madagascar, Tunisia and Kenya easily advanced over Morocco (42-0), Senegal (24-5), Uganda (33-0) and Zimbabwe (36-5) respectively. South Africa and Kenya would meet in the finals thanks to the semi-final victory over Madagascar (29-0) and Tunisia (19-0) respectively.

The final was a close match, but a third try by South Africa gave them the 15-14 victory over Kenya. Madagascar won bronze thanks to a 5-0 victory over Tunisia. Despite South Africa winning the title, due to additional rules set up by their national Olympic committee the quota will be declined and thus Kenya qualifies to the Olympics.

This will be Kenya’s second time to compete at the Olympics as rugby sevens makes its return after being introduced at the 2016 Olympics. By finishing third and fourth, Madagascar and Tunisia will have a second opportunity to qualify to the Olympics via the final qualification tournament to be held in 2020.

Qualified Nations

Women’s Tournament
* South Africa (Declined)
* Kenya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.