Rugby Sevens: New Zealand Wins Fifth Women’s World Rugby Sevens Series

New Zealand won their fifth title at the 2018-19 World Women’s Rugby Sevens Series in impressive fashion, winning four out of the six legs. In terms of Olympic qualification, the top four highest ranked nations at the end of the 6-leg series qualified to the Olympics. As clarification, only England can qualify Great Britain to the Olympics. The series began in Glendale, United States on October 20th 2018 and ended in Biarritz, France on June 16th 2019.

New Zealand won the first three legs to take a commanding lead of 60 points on the leaderboard. The next three spots were tightly contested with the United States second with 48 points and Australia and Canada tied for third. At this point only fifth place France (32 points) looked to be in contention for upsetting the top four.

France was able to cut the gap by four in Kitakyushu against Australia, but Australia pushed the lead back to 14 in penultimate round in Langford. It was here where New Zealand and the United States officially qualified to the Olympics. The final leg in Biarritz saw Canada and Australia grab the final two Olympic quotas by virtue of qualifying to the quarterfinals.

Overall New Zealand won four legs (Glendale, Dubai, Sydney and Langford) and Canada and the United States won one leg each (Kitakyushu and Biarritz respectively). The next opportunity for most nations to qualify will be at their respective continental qualifiers. However, due to North America qualifying two teams their continental quota has been reallocated to the final Olympic qualification tournament

Qualified Nations

Women’s Tournament
* Australia
* Canada
* New Zealand
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.