Rugby Sevens: England Qualifies Great Britain After European Women’s Qualification Tournament Victory

England was the top nation at the 2019 European Women’s Rugby Sevens Olympic Qualifying Tournament. By winning the tournament the nation also qualified to the Olympics. From an agreement between the British nations England was selected to try and qualify Great Britain to the Olympics. The European Women’s Rugby Sevens Olympic Qualifying Tournament was held in Kazan, Russia from July 13th to July 14th 2019.

Overall 12 nations competed in three pools with the top two and two best third ranked teams advancing to the quarterfinals. Pool A was won by France who defeated their opponents by a combined score of 125-5. A 29-10 victory by Poland over Italy ensured the nation second position while Italy also advanced thanks to a 38-0 win over fourth place Moldova.

Pool B had the two World Series core teams, England and Russia defeat Germany and Sweden in relatively easy fashion. The final games of the pool saw Russia defeat England 26-5 while Sweden defeated Germany 29-5 to take third. Sadly, for Sweden they were not one of the best performing third place teams and thus did not reach the quarterfinals.

Pool C went similar as to Pool B where World Series core teams, Ireland and Spain defeated the Czech Republic and Romania in relatively easy fashion. The pool was won by Spain whom defeated Ireland 19-5 while Romania defeated the Czech Republic 34-5 to advance to the quarterfinals by having a better point differential than Sweden.

The quarterfinals saw victories from France, England, Russia and Spain over Romania (55-0), Ireland (17-7), Italy (44-0) and Poland (17-14) respectively. The semi-final matches were tight affairs with England defeating France 14-12 and Russia defeating Spain 12-5. England won the tournament and quota for Great Britain via a 19-0 victory over Russia. The bronze medal was won by France whom defeated Spain 17-5.

By finishing second and third respectively Russia and France have advanced to the final Olympic qualification tournament where they will play nations from other continents for two final spots to the Olympics. The next continental qualification tournament will be held in Africa.

Qualified Nations

Women’s Tournament
* Great Britain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.