Rugby Sevens: China to Make Their Olympic Debut After Asian Women’s Qualifier Triumph

China went undefeated to win the 2019 Asian Women’s Rugby Sevens Olympic Qualifying Tournament. By winning, the nation has also qualified to the Olympics. In total, eight nations competed in two groups with the top two advancing to the semi-finals. The Asian Women’s Rugby Sevens Olympic Qualifying Tournament was held in Guangzhou, China from November 9th to November 10th 2019.

Pool A was won by China where they displayed their regional dominance by scoring 146 points while only conceding seven to Hong Kong in a 42-7 victory. Hong Kong also advanced as the second placed team where they defeated South Korea and Sri Lanka. Third place went to Sri Lanka as they defeated South Korea 19-5

Pool B similarly saw Kazakhstan go undefeated with victories over the Philippines (34-5), Thailand (17-12) and Singapore (46-0). Also advancing to the semi-finals was Thailand as they defeated Singapore (33-0) and the Philippines (36-0). Third place went to Singapore via their 20-19 win over the Philippines.

The semi-finals were won by China and Hong Kong where the former defeated Thailand 34-0 and the latter upset Kazakhstan 19-7. China would go on to win gold via a score over Hong Kong of 33-0. The bronze medal was won by Kazakhstan who defeated Thailand 17-14.

China will be making its Olympic debut in rugby sevens. By finishing second and third, Hong Kong and Kazakhstan will have one more opportunity to qualify to the Olympics via the Final Olympic Qualification Tournament.

Qualified Nations

Women’s Tournament
* China

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.