Rugby Sevens: Canada and Mexico Win 2019 RAN Sevens

Canada and Mexico both won the men’s and women’s tournament respectively at the 2019 RAN Rugby Sevens Championships. The highest ranked men’s team qualified to the Olympics. Originally, the women’s event was supposed to be a direct Olympic qualifier, but due to both Canada and the United States qualifying through the World Series the quota was reallocated to the final qualification tournament. The RAN Sevens was held in George Town, Cayman Islands from June 6th to June 7th 2019.

The men’s tournament was an 8-team tournament with all nations advancing to the quarterfinals. In Pool A, it was Canada whom put up a dominant performance by scoring 151 points and only conceding 5. Mexico finished second with wins over Bermuda and Barbados. Bermuda finished third with a 17-15 victory over Barbados.

Pool B was won by Jamaica whom won all three of their matches including a 22-5 victory over Trinidad and Tobago whom finished second. Hosts Cayman Islands finished third in the group, thanks to a 14-12 victory over Guyana.

The quarterfinals saw Canada, Bermuda, Mexico and Jamaica all defeat Guyana (47-5), Trinidad and Tobago (7-5), Cayman Islands (12-7) and Barbados (24-10) respectively. Canada continued its strong performance in the semi-final with a 55-0 win over Bermuda while Jamaica reached the final with a 24-7 victory over Mexico. Canada capped its dominant performance with a 40-5 victory over Jamaica to qualify to the Olympics. Mexico joined Jamaica in qualifying to the final qualification tournament by defeating Bermuda 50-0 in the bronze medal match.

The women’s tournament was a 6-team single group round robin with the top two nations advancing to the final. The group was by Jamaica whom went undefeated, holding a 164-24 goal differential. Despite tying Trinidad and Tobago 15-15, Mexico finished second in the group mostly due to Trinidad and Tobago’s 17-5 loss to Saint Lucia. Overall Saint Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago advanced to the third-place match while Bermuda and Bahamas advanced to the fifth-place match.

Mexico won the event by defeating Jamaica 19-15. Both teams advanced to the final qualification tournament. Third place went to Saint Lucia whom defeated Trinidad and Tobago 22-0 while fifth place was won by Bahamas whom defeated Bermuda 22-5.

The next continent to have its qualification tournament will be Europe, to be held next week.

Men’s Tournament
* Canada

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.