The Philippines made its first Summer Olympic appearance in 1924 and has competed ever since, with the exception of 1980 where it participated in the United States led boycott. Recently the nation sends a small delegation with around 15 athletes to compete. The athletes compete in various sports such as, athletics, boxing, shooting and taekwondo.

The Philippines won its first medal in 1928 and has won a total of 10 medals in 4 sports; five in boxing, two in athletics, 2 in swimming and one in weightlifting. The most successful athlete is swimmer Teofilo Yldefonso. He won two bronze medals in the men’s 200m breaststroke at the 1928 and 1932 Olympics. In 2016 the Philippines won a single medal.

Qualified Quotas


Men’s Events

Event Qualifying Athletes Selected Athletes
Men’s Pole Vault Ernest Obiena


Event Qualifying Athletes Selected Athletes
Men’s Flyweight Carlo Paalam
Men’s Middleweight Eumir Marcial
Women’s Flyweight Irish Magno
Women’s Featherweight Nesthy Petrcio


Event Qualifying Athletes Selected Athletes
Men’s Artistic Individual Events Carlos Yulo