Gymnastics: Apparatus World Cup Series Awards Top Eligible Finisher a Spot to Compete at the Games

After delays due to COVID-19, the 2018-2020 Apparatus World Cup Series has concluded. In total eight events were held, starting with Cottbus, Germany from November 22-25 2018 until Doha, Qatar which occurred from June 23-26 2021. Athletes competing in individual apparatus could earn points based on their ranking within the event. Their overall ranking would be the sum of their three best results. A nation can only earn one quota per gender and an athlete can only qualify one quota.

For the men, the six quotas were won by Spain’s Rayderley Zapata (floor), Japan’s Kohei Kameyama (pommel horse), Greece’s Eleftherios Petrounias (rings), South Korea’s Shin Jea-hwan (vault), China’s You Hao (parallel bars) and the Netherlands’ Epke Zonderland (horizontal bar). While China’s Weng Hao was the highest ranked eligible athlete in the pommel horse event, only one athlete per nation can qualify in each gender and You won the tiebreaker.

The women’s quotas were won by the United States’ Jade Carey (vault), China’s Fan Yilin (uneven bars), Japan’s Urara Ashiwaka (balance beam) and Italy’s Vanessa Ferrari (floor). Carey actually finished first in both the vault and floor, but tiebreaker procedures meant she got the vault quota while the floor quota went to the next highest ranked athlete.

Athletes will be eligible to compete in the individual all-around event or any subset of apparatuses. They will however not be able to contribute points towards the team all-around event, should their nation be qualified in it.

Qualified Nations

Men’s Artistic Individual Events
* China
* Greece
* Japan
* Netherlands
* South Korea
* Spain

Women’s Artistic Individual Events
* China
* Italy
* Japan
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.