Football: United States Goes Undefeated to Win CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship

The United States continued its undefeated streak to win their fifth title at the 2020 CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship. Along with the current world champions, Canada also qualified to the Olympics. In total, eight teams participated where two groups of four nations were form and the top two advanced to the semi-finals. The CONCACAF Women’s Olympic Qualifying Championship was held across three cities in the United States from January 28th to February 9th 2020.

Group A was won by the United States who went undefeated and scored 18 goals while conceding none. Also advancing to the semi-finals was Costa Rica who obtained wins over Panama (6-1) and Haiti (2-0) before losing to the United States 6-0. Third place went to Haiti who defeated Panama 6-0 during the final set of matches.

Similarly, Group B was won by an undefeated Canada as the nation scored 22 goals and conceded none. Mexico finished second in the group thanks to a hard fought 1-0 victory over Jamaica and a 6-0 win over Saint Kitts and Nevis before losing to Canada 2-0. Jamaica finished third thanks to a 7-0 win over Saint Kitts and Nevis during the final set of matches.

In the matches that would decide Olympic qualification, a well-structured Costa Rica was able to keep Canada at bay until a 72nd goal by Jordyn Huitema gave Canada the 1-0 victory. The United States on the other hand scored a fifth minute goal on route to win 4-0 against Mexico. Overall, the final was won by the United States who scored three second half goals.

The United States will be looking to win their fifth Olympic medal while Canada will be attempting to win their third straight medal after bronze medal performances in 2012 and 2016. This was the final opportunity for nations part of CONCACAF (North, Central America and the Caribbean) to qualify for the women’s tournament. Qualifiers for the women’s tournament continue in March where the African and Asian qualifiers are set to conclude.

Women’s Tournament
* Canada
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.