Field Hockey: Australia & New Zealand Split Titles at Oceania Cup

Australia and New Zealand split the titles at the 2019 Field Hockey Oceania Cup. The winner of each tournament qualified to the Olympics. Only two nations competed; Australia and New Zealand meaning the tournament format was a best of three. The Field Hockey Oceania Cup was held in Rockhampton, Australia from September 5th to September 8th 2019.

The women’s tournament saw New Zealand win the first match 3-1 with goals from Megan Hull, Amy Robinson and Stacey Michelsen. Australia responded in the second game by winning 3-2, thanks to a final minute goal from Renee Taylor. The final and decisive game saw Australia take the lead in the second minute thanks to a goal by Mariah Williams. It looked as if Australia would hang on, but a penalty corner goal by Olivia Merry in the 55th minute drew the game 1-1. As both teams were level on points, New Zealand won the Olympic quota thanks to a better goal differential.

The first match of the men’s tournament begun with a 4-0 win by Australia thanks to goals by Tom Craig, Timothy Brand, Blake Govers and Flynn Ogilvie. The second match had Australia take a 2-0 lead, but goals by Jacob Smith and Kane Russell during the third quarter salvaged New Zealand’s tournament as the two nations tied 2-2. Australia earned their spot to the Olympics by scoring two goals during the first quarter and locking it up with a third goal during the final few minutes of the game.

This concludes the continental qualifier portion for field hockey. Fourteen teams will compete for the final seven spots to be decided at the Olympic qualifiers held later this year.

Qualified Nations

Men’s Tournament
* Australia

Women’s Tournament
* New Zealand

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.