Field Hockey: Argentina Women Win Seventh Pan American Games Title

Argentina won their seventh title in the women’s event at the 2019 Pan American Games. By winning, they have qualified a spot to the Olympics. The eight-team tournament was split into two groups with all teams advancing to the quarter-finals. Field hockey at the Pan American Games is currently being held in Lima, Peru from July 29th to August 10th 2019.

Pool A was won by Argentina whom went undefeated, scoring 18 goals while only conceding one. Canada finished as the runner-up while Uruguay finished third thanks to an 8-1 victory over Cuba.

Defending Pan American Games champion United States won Pool B by going undefeated, though they required a comeback against Chile after going down 2-0 during the first 36 minutes where they scored four unanswered goals. Chile finished second while Mexico finished third by defeating host nation Peru 4-0.

The quarter-finals saw the four strongest nations of the continent score easy victories, with the closest match being Chile’s 5-0 victory over Uruguay. The other matches saw Argentina, Canada and the United States defeat Peru (21-0), Mexico (9-0) and Cuba (9-0) respectively.

The largest upset of the tournament came in the semi-finals as Canada blanked the defending champions United States 2-0. Argentina kept its streak of reaching every single Pan American Games final by defeating Chile 3-1.

The final had Argentina take a 2-0 lead at half-time on route to win their seventh title via a score of 5-1. The bronze medal was won by the United States who defeated Chile 5-1.

Pan American nations will have one more opportunity to qualify a team to the Olympics. It will be at the field hockey Olympic qualifiers to be held later this year. Field hockey at the Pan American Games continues tomorrow with the men’s tournament final.

Qualified Nations

Women’s Tournament
* Argentina

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.