Diving: Yang Jian Wins Gold in Men’s 10m Platform at World Aquatics Championships

China completed the diving near-sweep as Yang Jian won gold in the men’s 10m platform at the 2019 World Aquatics Championships. In terms of Olympic qualification, the top 12 athletes qualified their nations to the games. Diving at the World Aquatics Championship was held in Gwangju, South Korea from July 12th to July 20th 2019.

The preliminary round was initially led by defending world champion Tom Daley or Great Britain, but a consistent Yang Jian, China’s 2017 World Championship bronze medalist was able to overtake him after the fourth dive to win the round with a total of 530.10 while Daley finished second with 514.60.

Yang Jian continued his stellar performance in the semi-final where a very consistent performance allowed him to hold the lead for the entire round where he scored a total of 573.35. His compatriot, Yang Hao followed closely behind, finishing the round just over a point back with a total of 572.30. Daley was third with a total of 505.40. With 12 athletes advancing to the finals, the Olympic quotas were decided. Two quotas were won by China, Great Britain and the United States while a single quota was won by Australia, Canada, France, Russia, South Korea and Ukraine.

The final saw Daley took the initial lead, but a poor overall performance ultimately left him finishing in seventh. Yang Jian however, never finished below third in any of his dives to win gold with a total of 598.65. His compatriot Yang Hao finished second with 585.75 points while Russia’s Aleksandr Bondar won the bronze with a total of 541.05 points.

The next opportunities for nations to qualify in this event will be at their respective continental events and the 2020 Diving World Cup. Overall, China was able to qualify the maximum quota and can select up to 16 athletes while Great Britain and the United States can select up to nine and eight respectively. In total, 16 nations qualified at least one athlete to the Olympics.

Qualified Nations

Men’s 10m Platform
* Australia
* Canada
* China
* China
* France
* Great Britain
* Great Britain
* Russia
* South Korea
* Ukraine
* United States
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.