Diving: Second Day of FINA World Cup Determines Final Synchronized Qualifiers

The synchronized diving events were completed at the conclusion of the second day of the 2021 FINA Diving World Cup. Additionally, the four highest ranked eligible nations were also given a spot to compete at the Olympics. The FINA Diving World Cup is currently being held in Tokyo, Japan from May 1st to May 6th 2021.

The preliminary round of the women’s 10m synchronized platform saw multiple lead changes over the five dives. The event began with Malaysia’s Pandelela Pamg and Leong Mun Yee taking charge, but were overtaken by Russia’s Ekaterina Beliaeva and Iuliia Timoshinina after the second dive. The round was won by Mexico’s Alejandra Orozco and Gabriela Agundez (312.54 points) whom led after the fourth dive and finished ahead of the Russian pair by a narrow 2.64 point margin.

Pamg and Leong would again start with the lead during the final and were able to hold it during the first three dives, albeit by a narrow margin. They were overtaken on the fourth dive by Great Britain’s Lois Toulson and Eden Cheng, but they were unable to hold onto it to win the event as Canada’s Meaghan Benfeito and Carli McKay pipped them for the gold medal with a score of 305.94. This was 3.06 points ahead of Toulson and Cheng (302.88) while Germany’s Christina Wassen and Tina Punzel won the bronze medal (292.86). Along with the medalists, Orozco and Agundez obtained a quota to the Olympics.

The men’s 3m synchronized springboard also saw many lead changes during the preliminary round where a new leader emerged between Germany’s Patrick Hausding and Lara Rudiger, Great Britain’s Daniel Goodfellow and Jack Laugher and Russia’s Evgenii Kuznetsov and Nikita Shleikher after each of the six dives. A stellar final dive by Kuznetsov and Shleikher gave them the overall win with a total of 421.92 points.

The final again saw the three teams take the lead after the first three dives, but after taking control of pole position on their third dive, Goodfellow and Laugher managed to hold onto the lead for the remainder of the event to win gold with a score of 440.94. Silver went to Hausding and Rudiger (433.92) while Kuznetsov and Shleikher won bronze (415.86). Along with Germany and Russia, the Olympic quotas were won by the United States’ Mike Hixon and Andrew Capobianco and Italy’s Giovanni Tocci and Lorenzo Marsaglia.

This was the final opportunity for nations to qualify in the synchronized diving events. The World Cup continues with the individual events where nations will also have an opportunity to qualify to the Olympics.

Qualified Nations

Men’s 3m Synchronized Springboard
* Germany
* Italy
* Russia
* United States

Women’s 10m Synchronized Platform
* Canada
* Germany
* Great Britain
* Mexico

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.