Diving: Rinong Wins Women’s 10m Platform Gold at FINA Diving World Cup

A great final performance by Pandelela Rinong allowed her to win gold in the women’s 10m platform at the 2021 FINA Diving World Cup. In terms of Olympic qualification, all eligible athletes which reach the semi-finals qualified their nation to the games. The FINA Diving World Cup is currently being held in Tokyo, Japan from May 1st to May 6th 2021.

During the preliminary round the lead alternated between Russia’s Yulia Timoshinina and Malaysia’s Cheong Jun Hoong with the latter winning the round by 8.60 points with a total of 345.30. The Olympic quotas were won by Malaysia (Cheong Jun Hoong), Russia (Yulia Timoshinina), Mexico (Gabriela Agundez), Great Britain (Andrea Spendolini-Sirieix), Germany (Elena Wassen), South Korea (Kwon Ha-lim), Singapore (Freida Lim), Germany (Christina Wassen), Brazil (Ingrid Oliveira), Russia (Anna Konanykhina), Ireland (Tanya Watson), Italy (Sarah Jodoin di Maria), France (Alais Kalonji) and Norway (Anne Tuxen).

A wild semi-final saw five different divers take turns holding the lead with Canada’s Caeli McKay winning the round with a total of 343.85 points. The finals on the other hand had Malaysia’s Pandelela Rinong obtain the lead after her second dive and hold on to it to win gold with a score of 355.70. Silver went to Japan’s Matsuri Arai (342.00) while bronze was won by McKay (338.55).

The FINA Diving World Cup concludes tomorrow with medals being awarded in the men’s 3m springboard.

Qualified Nations

Women’s 10m Platform
* Brazil
* France
* Germany
* Germany
* Great Britain
* Ireland
* Italy
* Malaysia
* Mexico
* Norway
* Russia
* Russia
* Singapore
* South Korea

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.