Diving: Lu and Zhang Recover to Win Women’s 10m Synchronized Platform Gold at World Aquatics Championships

China continued with its top performance today in the diving events at the 2019 World Aquatics Championships where they won gold in the women’s 10m synchronized platform. In terms of Olympic qualification, the top three nations qualify. Diving at the World Aquatics Championship is currently being held in Gwangju, South Korea from July 12th to July 20th 2019.

The Chinese pair of Lu Wei and Zhang Jiaqi had a bad start in the preliminary round finishing 14th in the first round. Over the next four rounds they had the highest scoring dive in three of them, taking the lead right at the end with 317.82 points. During this time, it was Malaysia’s Leong Mun Yee and Pandelela Rinong and Canada’s Meaghan Benfeito and Caeli McKay whom held the lead at various points of the round.

The final round however was different as Lu and Zhang held on to the lead for the entire round, including having the highest scoring dives for each rotation. Overall, they won gold with a total score of 345.24. Leong and Rinong won silver with 312.72 while United States’ Samantha Bromberg and Katrina Young finished 0.81 points ahead of Benfeito and McKay to win bronze and the final Olympic quota with a total of 304.86.

The next opportunity for nations to qualify in this event will be at the 2020 Diving World Cup. Olympic qualification for diving continues tomorrow with Olympic quotas being given out in two events.

Qualified Nations

Women’s 10m Synchronized Platform
* China
* Malaysia
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.