Diving: Final Medals Awarded as Asian Cup Comes to a Close

The final medals and Olympic quotas were awarded today in the women’s 3m springboard and men’s 10m platform at the 2019 Asian Diving Cup. Only the winner is eligible to win the quota, provided that they have not already qualified their nation and their nation has not reached the maximum quota. The Asian Diving Cup was held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from September 6th to September 8th 2019.

The women’s 3m springboard was won by 2018 Asian Games bronze medalist Nur Dhabitah Sabri of Malaysia whom finished ahead of her compatriot Loh Zhiayi with a total of 313.85 points. The bronze medal was won by Indonesia’s Linadini Yasmin.

In the men’s 10m platform it was Singapore’s Jonatan Chan whom won the title, where he finished with a total score of 407.90 points. The silver and bronze medals were won by China’s Wang Zewei (393.45 points) and North Korea’s Ri Kwon-hyok (347.25 points) respectively.

Other nations will have one more opportunity to qualify in these events where they will compete at the 2020 Diving World Cup. The next continental qualifier for this event will be in Oceania, to be held in December.

Qualified Nations

Men’s 10m Platform
* Singapore

Women’s 3m springboard
* Malaysia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.