Diving: Benfeito Wins 10m Platform Gold After Two Bronzes in Previous Pan American Games

Benfeito upgraded her bronze medals won in 2011 and 2015 to gold in the women’s 10m platform at the 2019 Pan American Games. In terms of Olympic qualification, only the winner is eligible to qualify their nation to the games. Should they have already previously qualified a quota or the nation has already achieved the maximum quota then the quota will not be used. Diving at the Pan American Games is currently being held in Lima, Peru from August 1st to August 5th 2019.

The preliminary round was topped by Mexico’s Alejandra Orozco whom led for most of the round with the exception of after the third dive where she fell behind Delaney Schnell of the United States. Overall she finished with a score of 351.20, 10.50 points ahead of Canada’s Caeli McKay.

The final was won by Canada’s Meghan Benfeito whom led from start to finish, scoring 375.05 points. This was 9.35 more points than McKay and 18.95 more points than Orozco whom finished with the silver and bronze medal respectively. As Benfeito already qualified at the 2019 World Aquatics Championships the quota has been reallocated to the 2020 Diving World Cup.

The next opportunity for Pan American nations to qualify in this event will by at the Diving World Cup to be held in 2020. Diving continues tomorrow with medals being awarded in the men’s 3m springboard.

Qualified Nations

Women’s 10m Platform
* Reallocated to Diving World Cup

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.