Cycling: Dygert Tops Women’s Time Trial Race By Over a Minute at World Championships

Chloe Dygert won her first senior road cycling title in the women’s time trial at the 2019 Road Cycling World Championships. In terms of Olympic qualification, the top ten highest ranked NOCs will be given an opportunity to compete in the event at the Olympics. The Road Cycling World Championships is currently being held in Harrogate, Great Britain from September 22nd to September 29th 2019.

The women’s time trial course began in Ripon and ended in Harrogate and had a length of 30.3 km. The early lead was held by Belarus’ Alena Amialiusik whom finished the course in 45:29.53. Despite going fifth, she was able to hold the lead over the next 29 finishers until Chloe Dygert of the United States finished over three minutes faster with a time of 42:11.57. None of the following 19 cyclists were able to catch her as she won gold by over a minute. The silver and bronze medals were won by the Netherlands’ Anna van der Breggen and her compatriot Annemiek van Vleuten.

The Olympic quotas were won by the United States, the Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Belarus, Australia, Canada, Israel, Sweden and France.

As no athlete quotas are given in time trial, nations must also qualify in the road race in order to be eligible to compete. The only other opportunity for nations to qualify in women’s time trial will be through the Nations World Rankings set to be published next month. The Road Cycling World Championships continues tomorrow with the men’s time trial.

Qualified Nations

Women’s Time Trial
* Australia
* Belarus
* Canada
* France
* Germany
* Israel
* Netherlands
* Sweden
* Switzerland
* United States