Cycling: Dennis Defends Men’s Time Trial Gold Medal at World Championships

Rohan Dennis successfully defended his men’s time trial title by outriding his opponents by over a minute at the 2019 Road Cycling World Championships. In terms of Olympic qualification, the top ten highest ranked NOCs will be given an opportunity to compete in the event at the games. The Road Cycling World Championships is currently being held in Harrogate, Great Britain from September 22nd to September 29th 2019.

The men’s time trial course began in Northallerton and ended in Harrogate and had a length of 54.1 km. The early leader of the 57-person time trial was Great Britain’s John Archibald whom finished the course in 1:08:16.28. It took 18 racers before Australia’s Luke Durbridged outrode him by around 10 seconds. Durbridge didn’t hold onto the lead for very long as Great Britain’s Alex Dowsett finished the course in 1:07:06.12 and was directly followed by Italy’s Filippo Ganna whom finished about six seconds faster. With 15 remaining racers it was Belgium’s Remco Evenepoel whom took over the lead (1:06:14.28) where he held it until the final racer, Australia’s Rohan Dennis rode to gold in a time of 1:05:05.35. The silver and bronze medals were won by Evenepoel and Ganna respectively.

The Olympic quotas were won by Australia, Belgium, Italy, New Zealand, Great Britain, the United States, Estonia, Portugal, Germany and Switzerland.

As no athlete quotas are given in time trial, nations must also qualify in the road race in order to be eligible to compete. The only other opportunity for nations to qualify in men’s time trial will be through the Nations World Rankings set to be published next month. The Road Cycling World Championships continues with road races, but none of them will offer direct places to the Olympics.

Qualified Nations

Men’s Time Trial
* Australia
* Belgium
* Estonia
* Germany
* Great Britain
* Italy
* New Zealand
* Portugal
* Switzerland
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.