Canoeing: Medals Awarded in C1 Slalom Events as European Championships Come to a Close

The final day of the 2021 Canoe Slalom European Championships contained the C1 individual finals which doubled as the European Olympic qualifier. The highest ranked eligible nation qualified a spot to compete at the games. The European Championships was held in Ivrea, Italy from May 6th to May 9th 2021.

In the women’s C1 slalom, the first heat run was won 2017 World Championship gold medalist Mallory Franklin of Great Britain whom completed the run in 92.09 seconds, over four seconds faster than the Czech Republic’s Gabriela Satkova (96.34). The top 20 advanced to the semi-finals while the rest compete in the second run which was won by Spain’s Klara Olazabal (100.18) and the top 10 from there advanced.

The semi-final was won by Great Britain’s Kimberley Woods whom finished the course in 101.18, just 0.09 seconds ahead of France’s Lucie Prioux. As no eligible boats reached the 10-boat final, the Olympic quota was won by Slovakia’s Monika Skachova. The event was won by Spain’s Miren Lazkano (102.15). The silver and bronze medals went to 2017 World Championship silver medalist Tereza Fiserova (102.51) of the Czech Republic and Germany’s Elena Apel (104.01) respectively.

The first heat run of the men’s C1 slalom was won by 2017 World Championship silver medalist Alexander Slafkovsky of Slovakia whom completed the course in 82.89 seconds. Like the women’s event, the top 20 advanced to the semi-finals while the rest competed in the second heat run where the top 10 also advanced. The second heat run was won by 2019 World Championship silver medalist Ander Elosegi of Spain whom recovered after a relatively poor first run to finish with a time of 82.04 seconds.

The semi-final course was won by Italy’s Roberto Colazingari (87.71). With two boats each making the final, the Olympic quota came down to Germany and Italy. The final was won by 2016 Olympic gold medalist Denis Gargaud Chanut of France whom completed the course in 87.55. The silver medal went to the 2016 Olympic silver medalist, Matej Benus of Slovakia (88.65) while the bronze and Olympic quota was won by the 2018 World Championship bronze medalist Sideris Tasiadis of Germany (89.47).

This was the final normal opportunity for European nations to qualify in men’s and women’s C1 slalom. However, there is still two more women’s C1 quotas remaining due to reallocations.

Qualified Nations

Men’s C1 Slalom
* Germany

Women’s C1 Slalom
* Slovakia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.