Boxing: First Night of Finals Sees 17 Quotas Awarded at Road to Tokyo African Qualifiers

The first seventeen quotas in boxing were finalized today at the Road to Tokyo African Boxing Olympic Qualifiers. The two highest ranked athletes in the men’s heavyweight, men’s super heavyweight, women’s featherweight and women’s welterweight and the three highest ranked athletes in the men’s flyweight, men’s lightweight and men’s middleweight all qualified to the Olympics. The Road to Tokyo African Boxing Olympic Qualifiers are currently being held in Dakar, Senegal from February 20th to February 29th 2020.

Between the seven events, Algeria and Morocco were crowned champions in two of them. Algeria’s Mohamed Flissi and Younes Nemouchi won the men’s flyweight and men’s middleweight respectively. Additionally, the nation also qualified in the men’s heavyweight thanks to Abdelhafid Benchabla and in the men’s super heavyweight with Chouaib Bouloudinats’s silver medal performance. Morocco’s victories were in the men’s heavyweight and women’s welterweight via Youness Baalla and Oumayma Bel Ahbib respectively. Also qualifying for Morocco was Abdelhaq Nadir in the men’s lightweight.

Also winning events were Namibia’s Jonas Junias Jonas in the men’s lightweight, Tunisia’s Khouloud Hlimi Moulahi in the women’s featherweight and Cameroon’s Maxime Njieyo Yegnong in the super heavyweight. Cameroon’s second quota came in the box-off third place match in the men’s middleweight (Wilfried Ntsengue).

Other nations to obtain qualification quotas were Botswana (Keamogetse Kenosi, women’s featherweight), Democratic Republic of the Congo (David Tshama, men’s middleweight), Ghana (Sulemanu Tetteh, men’s flyweight), Mauritius (Richarno Colin, men’s lightweight), Mozambique (Acinda Panguana, women’s welterweight) and Zambia (Patrick Chinyemba, men’s flyweight)

Unqualified nations will have one more opportunity to qualify to the Olympics via the world qualification tournament. The African qualifiers end tomorrow with the finals and box-offs for the remaining six events.

Qualified Nations

Men’s Flyweight
* Algeria
* Ghana
* Zambia

Men’s Lightweight
* Mauritius
* Morocco
* Namibia

Men’s Middleweight
* Algeria
* Cameroon
* Democratic Republic of the Congo

Men’s Heavyweight
* Algeria
* Morocco

Men’s Super Heavyweight
* Algeria
* Cameroon

Women’s Featherweight
* Botswana
* Tunisia

Women’s Welterweight
* Morocco
* Mozambique

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.