Artistic Swimming: Italy Wins Team and Austria Wins Duet at Final Olympic Qualification Tournament

The artistic swimming roster has been completed with the results from the Artistic Swimming Olympic Games Qualification Tournament. The top three nations in the women’s team event qualify a team and a duet while the top eight nations in the women’s duet will also compete to the games. The event was held in conjunction with the World Series Super Final in Barcelona, Spain from June 10th to June 13th 2021.

The technical routine of the women’s team was won by Italy whom scored 90.7917 which edged out the 2020 European Championship bronze medalist Spain (90.5506). Italy would also win the free routine with a score of 93.2332, allowing them to win the event with a combined score of 184.0249. Spain finished second with a combined score of 182.8506 while Greece grabbed the final quota, finishing just over 0.2 points ahead of the United States (175.9990).

Italy, Spain and Greece will additionally compete in the women’s duet, the athletes chosen to compete in the event must also compete in the team. The European quota previously held by Spain will be reallocated to the next highest ranked nation, Great Britain.

The preliminary round of the women’s duet was won by sisters Anna-Maria and Eirini Alexandri of Austria whom had the best free and technical routine scores, allowing them to finish with a score of 181.8389, this was over six points ahead of the Netherlands whom finished with 175.3620.

In the final, the free routine was performed again, replacing the preliminary score. Austria had an even better performance to increase their overall total to 182.8053 to win gold. Silver went to Belarus’ Vadilina Khandoshka and Daria Kulagina (176.6593) while France’s Charlotte and Laura Tremble won the bronze (176.4601). The remaining Olympic quotas were won by the Netherlands, the United States, Israel, Liechtenstein and Colombia.

This was the final opportunity for nations to qualify in artistic swimming. All that remains is for nations to accept their quotas.

Qualified Nations

Women’s Team
* Greece
* Italy
* Spain

Women’s Duet
* Austria
* Belarus
* Colombia
* France
* Greece
* Israel
* Italy
* Liechtenstein
* Netherlands
* Spain
* United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.